League of Women Voters honors Kirkwood, Kromkowski

From staff reports

One hundred members and friends attended the May 23 League of Women Voters Leelanau County (LWVLC) annual dinner. There, the LWVLC awarded its Outstanding Community Member Award to Liz Kirkwood, executive director of For Love of Water (FLOW) for her work educating citizens and government leaders about the power of the public trust as a key legal strategy for preserving our waters as a shared resource. The LWVLC also inaugurated the Vina Mikesell Outstanding Member Award named in honor of its first president. The award was presented to LWVLC board member Marian Kromkowski for her advocacy for human rights both in her personal and professional life.