NMEAC environmental awards include Leelanau County visionaries

From staff reports

The Northern Michigan Environmental Action Council (NMEAC) presented its 35th annual environmentalist of the year awards in a ceremony on April 19 at Milliken Auditorium on the campus of Northwestern Michigan College.

Winners from Leelanau County included: John Dindia of Lakeview Hill Farm for agriculture/farming; Sam Getsinger of Leelanau Indivisible for grassroots organizing; Tina Greene Bevington of Bay Books in the business category, and writer Kathleen Stocking for the Greg Reisig Prize for Environmental Journalism.